Saturday, January 11, 2014

BREAKING NEWS: First Severe Watch (Tornado) active for Taliaferro, Warren and Wilkes counties

There is a tornado watch active for Taliaferro, Warren and Wilkes counties until 15:00 today.  It is the first severe weather watch to be issued in 2014.

A tornado watch means that conditions are favorable for the development of tornados and destructive straight-line winds.

There is a slight risk of severe weather across all 23 counties in the Central Savannah River Area today.

The time window for this is between 8:00 and 16:00.  There is a 5% chance of tornados and a 15% chance of damaging winds in excess of 64 mph.

Secondarily, there is also the threat for flooding and excessive lightning.

Stay tuned to NOAA Weather Radio for more.  The channel frequencies are below the fold, starting with the primary channels:

162.400 is the main National Weather Service channel for the Columbia WFO, located in West Columbia.  In addition to the South Carolina Midlands, three CSRA counties are served by this station: Bamberg, Orangeburg and Saluda.

162.425 is the Kirksey channel.  In addition to the South Carolina Piedmont, it serves the northernmost five counties in the area: Edgefield, Lincoln, McCormick, Saluda and Wilkes.

162.425 is the Metter, Ga. channel.  In addition to the Georgia Lowcountry, it serves the southeasternmost three counties on the Georgia side of the CSRA: Bulloch, Jenkins and Screven.

162.450 is the Beaufort channel.  In addition to Coastal South Carolina, it serves the southeasternmost three counties on the South Carolina side of the CSRA: Allendale, Bamberg and Hampton.

162.450 is the Sandersville, Ga. channel.  In addition to Central Georgia, it serves four of the six westernmost counties in the area: Emanuel, Glascock, Jefferson and Warren.

162.500 is the Barnwell channel.  It serves Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Burke, Colleton, Hampton, Jenkins, Orangeburg, Augusta-Richmond and Screven counties.

162.525 is the Orangeburg channel.  It serves Bamberg and Orangeburg counties in the CSRA, as well as several counties in the South Carolina Midlands.

162.550 is the Wrens, Ga. channel.  It serves all of the CSRA, except for Bulloch, Hampton, Orangeburg and Saluda counties.

Now, here are the secondary NOAA Weather radio channels:

162.400 is the Hardeeville channel.  The only local county served by this Coastal South Carolina and Georgia Lowcountry station is Bulloch County, Ga.

162.425 is the Waynesboro channel.  It only serves Barnwell and Burke counties.

162.450 is the Aiken channel.  It only serves the Augusta metropolitan area: Aiken, Columbia, Edgefield and Augusta-Richmond counties.

162.475 is the Cross channel.  It is notable for being the only channel in the state on this particular frequency.  While it serves the Lake Moultrie region of South Carolina, the station only serves Orangeburg County locally.

162.500 is the Washington, Ga. channel.  Wilkes County is the lone county served by the station.

162.525 is the Eatonton, Ga. channel.  While it serves Central Georgia, the only local county served by the station is Taliaferro County, Ga.

Follow me on Twitter.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...